Thursday, September 9, 2010

Sold Out

Bad news... I checked the WB website today and it is all sold out. I've added our team to the waiting list, but I'm not sure how likely it will be for our team to get a spot.

Sorry guys.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Dear Ragnar Relayers,

Thanks for coming out to the Ragnar Relay Wasatch Back. I have poured over our survey data and I am happy to say that overall it seems like you had a great time. The primary complaint we received was traffic at the finish line. We have already begun work on addressing this issue for next year and I will be updating you as changes are made.

Also, many of you requested that we cap this race this year and not add more teams. Our plan for 2011 Ragnar Relay Wasatch Back is to do just that. We will be capping the race at 1050 teams.

With a little over 200 spots left and Early Registration ending on July 31st, we expect to sell out in the next few weeks. I am working with my fellow race directors on our AZ, CA and Las Vegas Race to set up some special treatment for anyone who ends up on the waiting list.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Wasatch Back 2011

I am posting this on the blog page hoping that everyone will receive it. I need to know asap if you are planning on being on the team again next year. I also will need everyone's registration $$ by July 31st to take advantage of the early registration. It is $200 cheaper if we do early reg. With the remaining sponsorship money, from M & K, the early registration fee per person will be $63. If we do not do the early registration fee then it will jump up to $78 dollars from 07/31-08/31 and then $93 from 8/31-4/30/2011.
You can send the money via www.paypal.com. That would be the fastest way. All you do is log in to your paypal account and transfer it to mine using my email address... miller_crew4@yahoo.com
I'm sorry that this is such short notice. Please let me know if this isn't possible. We all have to be on-board about when we register. Monte and I aren't able to pay it outright and have everyone pay us back.
We're looking forward to another fun run next summer!!!

Love you guys,
Hayley

Monday, June 21, 2010

Official Results

The team was 195 out of 491 co-ed teams.
The official time was 30:54:38.1
http://runnercard.com/runner/data/1825/2793/Result/Mixed.htm

WhooHooo!!! Great job guys!

.....And I got a text from Kathy today. She is so excited to run with the team that she has already started training for it! She ran 2 miles today in 26 minutes and then walked another 1.5 miles. Go Kathy!

Love you guys!
*Hayley

Thursday, June 10, 2010

I really am running...

...but this job keeps getting in the way! Ugh...stupid job-overrated! Soooo...I've only run once so far this week, but am hoping to run with the Miller's/Cameron's this weekend. Bear with me, I'm so slow! Hopefully we can talk a lot about the race this weekend when we're all together at the Millers' house so I am more "in the know" and can contribute more. You guys are all awesome and I'm totally looking forward to this (even though I don't know everyone)! I'm sure it will be SO much fun and I can't wait!

Brooke

Weather looks Great!

So the weather forecast for next friday and saturday in Logan and Park City looks to be perfect! Highs in the low 80's overnight lows in the 50's! Light wind, UV index very high! So it looks like we should be able to run a great race in the sun and get sunburned! anyway one week! See you all soon!

Aaron

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Ryan is Back!

Hey everyone as you all saw a few posts ago, Hayley hurt her ankle/foot. She has humbly bowed out of the race and the vacancy will be filled with our old running teammate, Ryan Cameron! We are very sad to see Hayley hurt and not running with us this year, but her and Erin will be following us throughout the race to take some very nice pictures which will make all of us happy! So thank you Hayley and Erin for your willingness to be our photographers and welcome back Ryan!

Only 10 days till start time! Have a safe, happy week! We are very excited to meet everyone next thursday night!

Aaron

Monday, June 7, 2010

Well I put in an 11 mile run tonight. Wasn't exactly a blistering pace ( certainly not Aarons pace ) but it felt good just to be able to put that kind of time in. Will try to go long again on Thurs. and see how that goes. Hope everyone is taking advantage of the last real week to get ready. Next week we should probably only run 2 or 3 times max. with just a light run on wed. and nothing on thurs. Need to start getting some extra sleep and some good nutrition in. Sunday everyone should start drinking a little extra water. We need to be well hydrated before the run. Remember at altitude we will dehydrate much faster so we want to be prepared for that. It will also keep us from getting so sore. Well thats all for now. Have fun this week.
The old geezer

Sunday, June 6, 2010

It's getting closer!

Hello everyone! Hope we all are doing well. I hate to admit it, but I only went running twice this past week, well three time if you count Monday. My goal though before the race was to run at least my longest leg...and I did it last night, 7 miles. It was almost like Adam and I were both practicing and preparing for the race. He drove along with me the whole way--thanks to him, even after a 12 hour work day!!! I got to have the boys and him cheer for me along the way and I also got some coaching. It felt really good to do it and finish strong. It even had some hills, which kicked my bum. Well I'm getting more and more excited each day. I am hopefully going to get in a couple more longer runs before the race. Hope everyone is doing good and keep up the great work!!
~Ashlee

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Headphones Are Back In!!!

I just got an email from Ragnar saying that due to the overwhelming negative response to the no headphone rule... they are canceling that decision, and headphones WILL be allowed on the course.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

New Ragnar Info and items of business

Hey team some bubble bursting info (for some at least)...

Ragnar has just informed me that according to USATF regulations (they are USATF sanctioned) the use of headphones is not permitted in a running event. So that means that no-one can use an ipod and headphones when they run. They also said that they will have event marshals throughout the course that will report team numbers for violators and any team that accumulates 3 violations will be removed from the course. So i guess we better start getting some runs in without the ipod.

Personally i think its dumb. The 2 deaths that they have had were not headphone related, but none the less they are making the rules, and we have to follow them.

Also they are making the new rule that a team must check in with not just 2 vests and 2 headlamps anymore, but 12 vests, 6 headlamps, and 4 butt lights. So let me know what you have! Megan and i have 8 vests and a butt light, we can get more if we need them, but before we do that i want to know who has what... so please let me know ASAP.

Another Also... We have to have a team safety meeting before we can get on the course, and they said that we should arrive at least 1 hour early to make sure we can start on time, that means that we need to be at the starting line probably around 9:00 am. Anyway i will attach the emails that they sent me so if you want more information you can get it.

http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=ddz5dz9r_2d43p3hf6

Tough Luck!

Bad News Everyone...

Hayley geared up yesterday to go for a nice off-road run, but just a few miles into the run felt a sharp pain in her left foot. She hobbled home and once we were able to get her shoe off, noticed some pretty heavy swelling. Looks as though she may be dealing with a small stress fracture. At this point I'm keeping my mouth shut, because I know she'll probably throw something in the direction of my head if I even slightly mention the thought that she may not be in any condition to run with us in two weeks, but I need to get that thought out there to everyone. Right now, we are rotating the ice and heat very heavily, with lots of rest, light messages and ibuprofen. We are going to test it out a little this weekend and see where we are at.

In the meantime, we are trying to locate a long-time family friend in Utah that may be able to step in last minute if Hayley is not ready. He's a close friend of Eric and I from NJ that would do very well if we needed him to step in. I'm trying to locate his contact info, but may have to wait to talk it over with Eric when he gets back from England next week.

Hayley is very upset right now, so please keep her in your thoughts and prayers. If she ends up feeling somewhat better by next week, I think she'd still like to plan on riding in the Vans with us and walk or jog a few sections of her assigned legs, hoping that between the rest of us, we could step in if she needed to rest the foot. Otherwise, if it's too risky, we'll need to have a substitute ready to go. Running is a huge part of her life, and she's not ready to throw in the towel. Stubborn Italian Women!!

Monte

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Shirts

Hey I think the shirt design looks great and I vote for long sleeves T's. It was nice to get out and run this weekend as a fam. It kind of felt like a prelim for the run in a couple of weeks. Lets make sure that everyone is out there putting in the miles for the next few weeks. We need to make contact with those who havent been posting on the blog to make sure they are up to speed on what is going on. We need to make sure we tie up those loose ends so we all have a great time. Happy running all,
the old geezer

What a great weekend

Well I had a great weekend and hope everyone else did as well. And got a lot of running in!!! It was great that the Steve Millers were able to come to Twin and also Meg and Aaron and we were all able to meet up. So we definitely got some running in. We all headed out Saturday morning for a great 4 1/2-5 mile run. Saturday night Megan, Aaron and I got in about a 3 1/2 mile run. Took a break on Sunday then we all got in a longer run on Monday morning. I think Megan and I did 6 miles and I don't even know what Aaron did, something like 8.6??? And he went down and up the canyon!!! CRAZY!!!!! Well anyways,I think it got us all a little pumped and hope we can all keep it up. I hope everyone else is doing great and getting pumped as well!! Less than 3 weeks!! Lets GO!!!! Woot woot!!
~Ashlee

Sunday, May 30, 2010

shirt design!!!

here is the design for the front of our shirts this year!
I think my friend Josh did a fabulous job. Thanks Josh!

(sorry for the delay)

Aaron

Friday, May 28, 2010

Official Start Time!!!

Hey everyone, we just got notification of our official start time...

10:30 am! which is great, we should have no problem finishing in time to enjoy all of the finish line festivities!

So we should all plan on meeting the night before to get everything all ready! Exciting!

-Aaron Barborka

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Items of Business!

Hey Everyone! less than a month to go! Well even less than that! only 3.5 weeks! Anyway i thought that we better get some team business taken care of... So here it is:

New runners! : Adam miller unfortunatelly has suffered some hip injury and will no longer be able to run with us, and since he missed out last year because of school, he will be one of our sleepless drivers! (This may already be old news to some) Adam's running spot has been filled by our cousin Brooke Deccio! Welcome aboard Brooke!
Ryan Cameron has also suffered an ankle injury and will also be out of the race. We are sad to see him gone because he is a fantastic runner! But he has been replaced by Jenessa and Caitlyn's friend Rogan from Wenatchee WA! Welcome Rogan.

Van Drivers: Because Shelly Miller is the "mother" of this operation, we want her to have first priority to be involved, since she hates things that start with "r,u,n" and loves things that start with "C,O,K,E" we though it best to allow her to get no sleep, (She'll be drinking all that caffeine anyway) so she will be a driver! Thanks Shelly for loving Diet Coke, and for being with us!
Again as already mentioned Adam will be a driver as well due to his injury that prevents him from running. Woot!

Team Shirts: Our shirt design is currently underway, it is going to be totally awesome, so dont worry about it. The only thing that has been asked is whether we want to do short sleeve or long sleeve shirts. The thought behind long sleeve is that we could put something down the sleeves. So if you are totally against one or the other let me know before june 1. (I am ordering the shirts on the 1st) Also The colors we have to choose from are pretty simple( the cheapest we can get them), which gives us the choice either RED or Royal BLUE. I thought RED would be cool, its a good looking red. But again if you've got some gang heritage that doesn't allow you to wear red, make it known. (June 1st!)
The shirt design is going to look like a Steve Miller Band tour shirt, so we can do a couple of things on the back: please make a comment and vote for what you want....

1: A list of the names of each of the team members (Looking like the cities of the tour)
2: A shorter list of the cities that each of us are from (again like above)
3: Epistemology = the art of running
4: You live in a world of illusion
Where everything's peaches and cream
We all face a scarlet conclusion
But we spend our time in a dream
5: Team number (117)
Wasatch Back 2010
6: If you have any brilliant idea, you can add that as your vote.
PLEASE VOTE BY JUNE 1ST THAT IS NEXT TUESDAY, LESS THAN 1 WEEK!

NEW TEAM SPONSOR!!!!! : We are so grateful and absolutely thrilled to hear that Mark and Kathy Miller have generously decided to sponsor our team! This will be so wonderful for us! THANK YOU MARK AND KATHY MILLER! YOU ARE OUR HERO'S!!! MUCH THANKS TO BOTH OF YOU FOR EVERYTHING!
Be sure to say thanks over and over for what they have done for us!

FOOD: We have already mentioned food, if you want to bring some of your own things that's great! But one of the biggest problems we faced last year while running was that no-one really got anything good to eat other than pb-j and granola bars.
It is very important that we eat something GOOD! We have thought about maybe making pasta salad, or something like that, easy and good. We can also stop at a Subway or something like that and each person can get a sandwich to bring with them, but we do need to get some real stuff besides just pb-j and granola bars.
We will have water and Gatorade, cliff bars, power bars, fruit snacks, fruit... but again we need to have at least 2 good meals for each person, so that could be a subway and pasta salad. Just let us know what to get! thanks


LIST OF THINGS TO DO: (THIS INCLUDES EVERY MEMBER OF THE TEAM!!!!)

1. Vote for your favorite color of shirt, short or long sleeve, and back of shirts! (3 things)
2. Thank Mark and Kathy for being so good to us!
3. Post about your runs! Get excited about the race!!!! 22 days to go! ITS HERE!
4. Food ideas.

Sunday, May 23, 2010

ATTENTION!!!!!

We have a sponsor!!! $1000 has been generously pledged to sponsor our team by Kathy & Mark Miller. Erin also is really excited about being the driver of Van #1, using the Miller's Jeep Commander.

We have also been thinking about the food situation. When Hayley ran in the AZ Ragnar everyone brought their own food, or purchased it while on the road. It might be easier, less wasteful, healthier, and even easier if we refund everyone a portion of their money to provide their own food. I personally would rather bring my own food and supplements. If this isn't feasible then Myself, Eric, Erin, and Hayley would like to buy our own food as a group.

Anyway, we really like the picture for the shirts! Looking forward to this run.

*Monte

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Hey everyone hope your training is going well as we come down to the wire. We have picked up our 12th runner from here in wenatchee. He is a great kid, name is Rogan Clay. Father was just put into our new Stake Presidency. He should fit in just fine, lets make sure that we welcome him. Just a reminder to get lots of hills in our workouts, and do a 2 a day at least once a week. Lets make sure that we stay well hydrated with lots of stretching. We dont need any injurys before the run. Well happy running everyone, lets make sure that we are out there at least 4-5 days a week before the run.
The old geezer

shirt ideas?



[picture ideas]
quotes for on the back/front:


You live in a world of illusion
Where everything's peaches and cream
We all face a scarlet conclusion
But we spend our time in a dream


or

Epistemology = the art of running


I think maybe a picture on the front and quote on the back? or vice versa depending on the quote.




Thursday, May 20, 2010

Had a couple of really good runs the last two days. Lots of hill climbing. Starting to feel the groove and get excited about the race. Time is closing in on us pretty quick. Hope everyone is staying healthy and getting ready to peak at the right time. I hope we are starting to do a couple of 2 a days, at least on saturdays and doing lots of hills. Well everyone keep of the good work, start increasing your mileage these last few weeks and we should do pretty well. Good luck
The old geezer

And the winner is...

Steve Miller's Runners !!!!

Looks like last year's name was the favorite so we'll keep it.

If you have any good ideas for decorations or a preference on color of shirts. Leave a comment.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Exhausting

I just pushed my two boys in the jogger for 55 minutes. I definitely forgot how hard it is to run with the jogging stroller. I'm glad that I got out though, and the boys had fun!

*Hayley

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

FINAL Team name

Alright team, lets decide on our name and move forward. I have talked to a few of you and so this is what I think we should do. Lets vote on these three names:
  • Steve Miller's Runners (same as last year)
  • ONYD - Oh No You Didn't
  • 11 young guns and an Old Geezer

Everyone needs to vote by leaving a comment on this post by SATURDAY MAY 15TH.

Then we can move forward with our team shirts if we want to that again this year and van decorations.

I hope everyone is doing well and training hard. We can't wait to see you all soon.

-Megan

Friday, May 7, 2010

Food Requests

Ok, so I have some food requests... : )

*Chocolate Muscle Milk (I brought this last year and everyone seemed to like them.)
*Peanut butter and honey sandwiches
*Apple Sauce
*Original Pringles

I also wanted to let you guys know that I have a Cricut, so if you want me to cut anything out in vinyl I can do that. Just fyi.
Are we set on vans and drivers?

*Hayley

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Hi! Thanks for the welcome! Why aren't we using steve millers band for a name again this year, like you did last year? OR we could use ONYD! (oh no you didn't!) as a name!

Anyway, I'm really excited, and have been running 3-5 times a week. I still don't feel great about my progress, but I'll start going more frequently, and longer distances. Today I ran 4 miles, but stopped 3 times to walk for a bit. Stopping to walk is my biggest frustration, but I have a hard time breathing sometimes, so feel like I need to slow down for a minute.

Any suggestions, toss them my way!

Brooke Deccio

Barefoot Running

My new shoes!

I have been plagued with a knee injury for the past 16 months. It is nothing that is overwhelmingly painful, but it has been a hinderance in my training for various races. I have tried several different kinds of running shoes, and numerous different knee braces and nothing really helped. Well, I bought these Vibram five finger shoes for myself as an early Mother's Day gift and I love them! I have been running with them this past week and I am officially converted. I ran 6 miles today, and my knee didn't start to get sore until 5 miles in. It usually starts to get sore at around 3 miles. These shoes definitely aren't for everyone, especially if you have sensitive feet, but I hate wearing shoes so "barefoot running" seems like a perfect fit for me.
Anyway, you can look up the benefits of barefoot running if you think that it is something that you might like. I love them!

Keep up all of the good work team!! Only 5 weeks left!!

Sorry I havent posted anything in a while. Been just a little busy. That whole church thing is always getting in the way. Oh well what are you going to do? I finally started getting some miles in, knee feels for the most part ok except the downhill running is still no good. Hopefully that will be resolved before the run. Ran a hard 5 last night, felt like 10, plan to do 6 tonight and 7 tomorrow. That should tell me where I really stand. It sounds like we want to go with a family oriented name. That sounds great but lets firm it up this week so we can start on the decorations. Everyone needs to put their 2 cents in by saturday and we will choose sunday. We also need to decide on the food. That needs to be much better than last year. Well there is lots to do, but lets make sure that we are all out there running almost everyday and dont forget the hills. Everyone needs to welcome Brooke our cousin as the newest member of the team. We think we have a replacement for Ryan and will know this week. Todd is a great kid from Twin and will do well. Have fun

The old Geezer

Ps my vote is for 11 young things( guns) and an old geezer

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

One More Thing

Congratulations Ashlee for finishing your first 10k! That is really exciting!!! Congrats to Jenessa too!
That's a bummer that Adam won't be able to run, but we are really glad that he will still be a part of the team as a driver.
And, one more thing about the sponsorship. I just want to make it clear that I am not going to be upset if the team ends up taking the sponsor from Go-Girl; Monte and I would just prefer to keep the team name family oriented, but we will be happy to participate either way.
*****
As far as training goes...
I had a really good run on Monday. I did a bootcamp style run which included some mileage, push-ups, and stair running. It felt great, but it was HOT!
I am really looking forward to doing a nice long run, probably around 8 miles, this Saturday.

*Hayley
I don't want to start a controversy here, but I kind of agree with Monte, and it's not because I have to- because I usually don't! ; ) I thought that having all family members on the team this year, and having a name that tied into that, was a big focus of our team. I feel like by being sponsored by this company we are losing the family focus. I guess I don't really see the point in having a sponsor if they are not going to help out monetarily. I don't really care about a free t-shirt because Ragnar gives us t-shirts as well. I think that we had a great time last year as The Steve Miller's Band and I would like to keep the name tied into something that signifies our family ties. I just don't want to feel like we are losing our identity as a family team so we can get some free t-shirts. Just my 2 cents.
Also, with Adam not running, are we in need of an additional runner?

*Hayley

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Well I accomplished something this weekend I never thought I would do, I ran and finished a 10K!!! Also a big thanks to Jenessa for running with me and pushing the last mile. Now I know I can do it and will keep pushing myself. I am going to try to start running twice on Saturdays and would encourage everyone else to do the same. In the training for the race it says to run twice on Saturdays and doing it every other Saturday!
Unfortunately Adam is not going to be able to run with us this year and we are sad. He really wanted to run, but with his hip injury he just cant do it. He has good and bad days, and running doesn't help it any. BUT, he will be driving for us, so he will still get to come along for the great adventure.
On our team name and sponsor...yes I know they aren't able to help out money wise pay for our entry fee, or gas as of yet, but all in all I thought it was a great idea. It gave us a team name, shirts, hat etc. I know it is all pink, and girly(sorry guys)but I also thought it would be fun and somewhat humorous to have us all advertising for GoGirl and to have there logo on our van and what not. I don't know, I own a Go Girl so I am somewhat partial to it. I like it, so I will give it a thumbs up!
I am getting excited for the race and hope everyone else is. I took a look at and my legs the other day and got nervous and excited haha. I'm lame I know :) It's getting close, little over a month left! Keep working hard everyone!!
Ashlee

Monday, May 3, 2010

Thumbs Down

Great Idea getting a sponsor! However, I'm just not sure that this one is very ideal. If we are not getting any money to cover the entry fee, gas, food, etc... then I'm not sure I would call them a true sponsor and be required to wear a pink shirt with stand-up feminine urination product information all over. Could just be me though.... I guess I just don't see the point.

What's wrong with the names submitted previously, or even the name we had last year??

My Entry fee check is in the mail. You should have it shortly. Please don't ask me to support women peeing into a bag, in public, standing up, just because the restroom is dirty.

Thanks again you guys. Let us know if we can help in any way.

Side Note:
Mark & Kathy Miller are looking for a head count and date of arrival list for anyone that will need room and board in Park City those two days. Of course everyone participating and driving will be counted (12-16 people?), but if you know of any other family or friends that will be in town and will either need a place to crash at the house or will be joining us for meals after the race, please let us know or them know.

Monte


To know you are one with what you are doing, to know that you are a complete athlete, begins with believing you are a runner.

George Sheehan

Friday, April 30, 2010

Ok seriously a team name proposal.

Ok everyone check it out, I have been talking to "GoGirl", its a company, if you want to know more about it check out their site. go-girl.com Anyway they have offered to sponsor our race, well sponsor is a loose term, they offered to give each of us t-shirts, hats, tattoos, stickers, and 12 go-girls. We would be named team "GO-GIRL" I think it would be totally fun, i sent them another email asking if they could provide some money to cover at least gas, possibly food, this would lower our individual costs! If that is the case i will give each of you a refund check at the end of the race.

Ok so, i think this would be fun, honestly i have no problem with this, i simply want to hear what you think, and especially if there are any of you who are morally against this let me know and we will come up with something else, but if not i think this is the way to go.

Thanks! Please be excited about the race, i know that we are all busy and life is getting kinda crazy, but we only have about a month and a half left, so lets get into the final stretch with some enthusiasm! WOOT! Lets hear your thoughts!

Aaron

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

monies

Hey Team! I hope you are all still sooo excited about everything. We need a little more enthusiasm up on this blog! So gt posting, Miller Girls, well i guess jen and cait, we have yet to hear from you, your goal for this week: POST! Everyone else, we want to hear from you too. also more business to take care of, only a hand full have paid, i didnt want to offend anyone in the beginning by saying that i wouldnt add you as a member of the team until you paid, but it seams that didnt work. so PLEASE send us a check, we are but poor college students and have already paid for your entry into the race, so please pay us back. thanks. our address again is

119 So. Center St. #3
Rexburg, ID. 83440

thanks, you know who you are if you havent paid. Again it is $120.00

Keep working hard, we are very excited about this very exciting race.

Aaron

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Henry's Fork

Hello everyone, it has been too long since we have posted. Spring in Rexburg has finally come and it has been absolutely beautiful the last few days and especially yesterday. We had a great day on the river yesterday at Henry's Fork, Aaron is teaching me how to fly fish and I caught 4 fish yesterday! It was so fun! While we were at the river I went on a run for a change of scenery but I forgot how many killer hills are on that road, HOLY COW!! I did pretty good but as soon as I finished the outside of one of my feet started hurting really bad and it hasn't gone away since. I have been icing it and I hope it gets better soon. I don't know what happened. We started a new semester today after a wonderful week off and I am taking an aerobics class which I am really excited about because I have never really done aerobics. We are getting really excited for the race and hope you all are too!

BUSINESS:
We need to finalize a team name ASAP so we can get shirts and decor. and sooo.... here is what I am thinking, we have gotten some good ideas from Hayley and Ashlee so if anyone else has any good team names in mind POST them THIS WEEK!! Then at the end of this week we can maybe vote on the top three names and move forward. Let me know how you all feel about that and lets get going on it.

Everyone keep working hard and putting the miles in, can't wait to see you all soon!

-Megan

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Hello???

Hey! Where is everyone? Haven't heard from any of you lately! Well I think I'm going to be able to start running more often now, but with some driving. The only way for me to get out more is to drive to my dads house, in Eagle, so he can watch the boys while I go. I was able to go yesterday, and what a beautiful day, and a nice change of scenery. I got in about 5 1/2 miles down along the Boise River and down the Greenbelt some. It sure did make the time go by faster running somewhere different. So I'm planning on gong again tomorrow and then Adam and I are going to go on Saturday as well. Hope to hear from you all again and soon. It's going to be here in no time!!!
~Ashlee

Friday, April 9, 2010

68 days!! AAHHHH

Seriously only 68 more days! It's going to be here in no time. Well I know I need to be working harder. In the past two weeks I have gotten in only 2 runs, both a little over 5 miles. I was so excited today to go, the weather was beautiful, and I was getting off work early. I had planned out this new route of about 6-7 miles...and the babysitter called and needed me to go get the boys. Ugh, I was angry, I hadn't ever been that anxious to go for a run. what have you Miller's done to me!! haha. It's so hard because Adam and I's schedules overlap so I can't go in the evening and I'm to lazy to go in the morning. I know i just need to start rolling myself out of bed in the mornings and go. I do go for walks though on my lunch breaks. I go with one of the girls I work with and we walk around the hospital about 3 or 4 times on the days we can get out and have nice weather.
For that week of the race, we are planning on leaving Thursday afternoon. Not sure where we will be staying though that night. Has anybody thought of any more team names?? We have had some good suggestions. we should probably decide on one so we can start planning the others stuff, like van decorations and what not. Everyone keep working hard. I'm so excited for the race and to see everyone!!
~Ashlee

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Team Name?

Ok, first... Monte and I have been doing well with running this week. I think that Monte needs to focus on pacing himself a little better, but overall he is doing great. I ran a few miles this morning also, but just took it nice and easy because my hamstrings are a little sore from the mountain run.

So, I've been trying to think up some team names and this is all that I could come up with...

11 Young Thangs and An Old Geezer
11 Younguns and An Old Geezer
Running From Sanity
GodSpeed
Wasatch Your Back (A play on watch your back)

I don't know... Not sure if any of those are good, but I thought that I would spit them out.

*Hayley

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Hey everyone sounds like we are all struggling to stay motivated. 81 days isnt very long and will be here before we know it. Cait, Jen and I put in about 6 mi. last night in not the best of weather(cold and windy) but ground it out. Grinding on the hard days and not giving in makes the easy days all that much better. If we can stay up and keep each other going I know we will do better than last year. So get out there and get a little in everyday if you can. GAMBATE NE! ( Millers need to ask their dad what that means)

The old geezer

Monday, March 29, 2010

81 Days and Counting!

If I'm going to be honest, Monte and I have been slacking on the running over the past two weeks. We have had family in town and I have not been feeling well. I made it out three times this past week, and I think that Monte only made it out twice. ...We do get a lot of sprints in with coaching our soccer team twice a week... does that count for anything!?! .....I did participate in a half marathon this weekend though... eventhough I wasn't feeling well. It was a rough course in the middle of the mountains south of Las Vegas. I felt pretty good and came in 6th. I didn't get a PR for this race, but it was definitely the hardest half marathon course I have run in so I'm happy with my time anyway.
Anyway, all is going well and we are refocusing this week to get out for a run atleast 3 times for Monte, and 4 times for me.
Eric says that he is "BLAMMING" it on the running! ...So......Everyone keep up the good work!

*Hayley & Monte

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Hey everyone, had a great run down along the river. Put in about 8.5 miles, wasn't the fastest pace but not to bad. Beautiful day, had large bald eagle kick off right next to me on the river and admired him for a few minutes while he flew along next to me before flying to the far side of river. Wished I had a camera with me. All in all not a bad run. Well its late and tomorrow is a busy day. Hope everyone is busy and enjoying the good weather. Get out there and enjoy it.

The old geezer

This Week

Hey everyone! This week has been pretty good for the Barborka's Megan got out 4 times this week, and i 3 times, we also went to the gym 3 times. We are currently experiencing some beautiful weather, so we are going to get out today and go for a nice long run, 6 miles or so. Anyway we are both very excited about the race! We hope everyone is doing great! and hope to see some more posts soon from everyone else!

Barborka's

Friday, March 26, 2010

Oh the snow...

For the last couple of days it has randomly snowed and it is so depressing for me. We had a week of really nice weather and then this. It wasn't until this semester that I ever realized how much the weather affects my mood. The sunshine makes me so happy and energetic and the snow and cold makes me sleepy and mopy (sp. ?) but I am trying my hardest to be positive. There are only 10 days left in the semester and then we have a week off to relax before summer semester. That makes me happy, even if it is snowing as I type! Running this week has been tough, I have just been so tired and I have felt somewhat discouraged about my running. I watched a great inspirational video in one of my classes this week that I had seen before but gets me every time. If you haven't seen team Hoyt... Check it out here: TEAM HOYT
-Megan

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

PLUGGIN ALONG

Hey everyone, how is everyone doing. Haven't seen some of you posting lately. Hope you are all still out there getting ready. Had a great run last night down along the river and over the bridge for about 6 miles, best run I have had in a while. I keep thinking about the altitude challenge that a lot of us are going to face. Everyone might want to practice backing off on your normal pace once in a while because for that initial run on the Ragnar we learned last year that we will need to do that. Has anyone heard from Eric. How is he doing? I keep thinking that we need to get him involved a little bit more. How about Trissa and Ryan, has anyone heard from them.Ok lets get out and enjoy the great weather.

Well that's it from the old geezer

Monday, March 22, 2010

Monday monday, so good to me, bah dah dah dah dah...

Well welcome to another week of running. Today megan and i went to the gym and did a little workin out. I ran on the treadmill, unfortunately after an absolutely beautiful weekend of sun, it began to lightly rain, and eventually turned into a snowstorm of 1 inch per hour here, luckily it only lasted 2 hours. So we went to the gym and i ran on the treadmill for 3.17 miles. Then did some strength training, megan did the opposite. Unbeknownst to us we didn't have food at home when we got back so instead of a nice healthy meal, we got a pizza. :) It was divine. Then we just did homework and soon will retire the day. I hope everything is going great for everyone!

Lets all try to Post AT LEAST ONCE THIS WEEK!!! With only 85 days to go lets all get in the spirit of of supporting each other and our team! Post and comment this week on one of your teammates posts!

Take care.
Aaron and Megan

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Team Names

So I have just been looking online at some team names, because I am not creative at all. So here are some. Some are lame but kind of funny as well.

Scrambled Legs ‘N’ Achin’
The Grateful for a Bed
2 Days and Confused
STOP FIGHTING, OR YOU’LL HAVE TO GET OUT OF THE VAN AND RUN
The Postfontaines
Livin’ in a van…Down by the river

There is just few

Speed and Strength

Well another week has come and gone. This past week I have been trying to do a little bit more strength training and some speed. Adam and I went over to the school by our house and did some Fartlecks(is that how you spell it?) and did that a couple times this week. I run over to the school, which is about a mile, and then we do about another mile, mile and a half while we are there. The other night Adam got called into work so I pushed the boys over there is the stroller, and we have to go down a dirt road to get there, but man did it work my legs pushing some extra weight, which was good. I have also been doing the strength training program on the Wii Fit. I never really thought that it would do much, but my legs and abs are definitely sore after doing it. This week I'm going to try to do some longer distance runs. The weather is sure starting to get nice, which makes it so much more enjoyable to get out there. Hope everyone is doing great!!
Ashlee

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Enjoying the great weather

The weather has been great here. Friday I got out and did a 7 mile loop along the river, pretty nice scenery to run through. Yesterday put about 4.5 miles along the canal here. Short sleeves and shorts. Nice time to be out getting some mileage in. Cait got her first run in yesterday since she is now cleared to run since she broke her leg. It was even her idea. Jen ran with which was great. Hope you are all maintaining your enthusiasm and looking forward to the relay. I am not as creative as the rest of you when it comes to naming the team but we need to come up with something pretty soon so we can start planning how to decorate the vans. We also need to get some input on the food. We definitely want some hot meals for everyone this year. Has anyone talked to Eric to know how he is doing. He kind of out there by himself training so we need to make sure we are in touch with him so he feels like he is part of the team. Have a great day and pound some pavement.

The old geezer

Monday, March 15, 2010

Spring Forward!

Today it really felt like spring in Rexburg, meaning that it was above 30 degrees YAY! Actually, I think it got up to 45 degrees which was amazing. Aaron and I went for a nice run this afternoon, we did about 3-4 miles with some good hills. It felt really good.

On a different note- we need a team name/theme. Why don't we use the blog the post ideas!! GET YOUR CREATIVE JUICES FLOWING!!

Keep running hard!

-Megan

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Sick

Well we have all been sick for the past week with a nasty cold and cough, so I haven't done any running or working out this past week. But we are ready get started back up again tomorrow!!
Ashlee

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Sore

Yesterday I did a lot of strenth training. I really miss lifting weights and I want to get stronger so I hit the gym for about an hour and then I ran 3 miles on the treadmill. I ran fast! I am trying to get faster and so I am doing some shorter distances and improving my time. Today I am pretty sore but it feels great :) Things are good!

-Megan

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Snowing again!

This weekend was so nice here in Rexburg, it was pretty warm and sunny. It was wonderful. I got a nice run in yesterday, about 5 miles. I ran to the nature park here and did a few loops around it and there were tons of ducks and geese. It smelled sooo bad! After the second loop I couldn't handle it anymore, so I ran home. Today it is snowing huge snowflakes outside as I type. Sad day but I am grateful for the moisture.
I hope everyone is doing well!

Megan

Monday, March 8, 2010

Weekend Runs

Monte and I had some good weekend runs.

Monte went running on Friday night and got spotlighted by a Police Helicopter... apparently there was a criminal running lose around the neighborhood and they thought that Monte could be him. (No kidding.. I'm serious!) He did 3 miles in under 28 minutes.
I did my long run on Saturday. I ended up doing 9.6 miles- nice and easy. Half was on the road and half was a dirt trail on the side of the mountain over here. It was a gorgeous day, and I really enjoyed it.
(Don't worry Old Geezer, I've been running all along...I'm not burning myself out.)
We hope all of your runs are going well. It sounds like they are!

; )

(posted by Hayley)

Friday, March 5, 2010

My week

Well I have gotten three runs in this week so far. I'm just starting out slow, ranging between 25-35 minute runs. And will hopefully keep building up. I do need to probably start doing more strength training though cuz my legs are getting tired and my calves have been pretty sore. Any suggestions would be great since you all have been doing this much longer than I! I am getting excited for the race, we had a great time last year and I'm sure it will be just as great this year! And I love that the weather is getting nicer, when I went running last night about 6, the reader board at the school by us said it was 51 degrees!!! Yay.
Ashlee

I'm not a runner



I enjoyed this. I am a runner. :)
Aaron

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Remember that the long haul

Ok guys you all sound like you are off to a great start. Monte, 7 miles way to go. I got in 5 tonight bad knee and all, felt pretty good. Last 8/10ths is all up hill. Heck of a finish for every run. Just a couple of reminders from the old geezer who has logged a couple of miles in his life. Don't over do it in the beginning. We've got 4 months to go, we don't need any injuries or people getting burned out before we ever get to the race. So pace yourself, plan your week around different courses to run. One day go long the next short and build your average mileage as you go. Make sure you have a pair of good running shoes, poor shoes are the leading cause of injuries and problems. For you less experienced runners, learn to listen to your breathing and run in rhythm to it. Learn to use your breathing as a pace setter and you will find that you get into the groove sooner and stay there longer.

You guys are great! Keep the excitement and the enthusiasm going and enjoy the journey.
The old geezer

Oh the pain

I really really hate getting back into shape! It is as if I have no lungs at all.

This is how I feel about running today....

"Run like hell and get the agony over with."
--Clarence DeMar (seven-time winner of the Boston marathon)


-Megan

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Night Run

I ran 7 miles tonight.

Monte

rainy days and run days always get me down...

Today my wonderful wife and i went on an afternoon stroll through the park. The park loop is just over a half-mile, so we ran there to warm up and then i did 7 laps or 3.5 miles and megan did 6 laps or 3 miles. then we ran back home, another 3/4 mile to cool down. So all in all it was a good run, we are both feeling very tired and sore, so we decided that from today till we die we are going to make daily running a part of our lives, simply so we dont ever have to get back into shape. :)

It was very nice here in rexburg today. It got up to 50! The snow is beginning to melt, we can once again see the ground and we are very excited. it actually rained a little bit today as well! Yeah for moisture that is not frozen!

Anyway keep working hard everyone!

Aaron and Megan

Training

My training has been going pretty well so far. I have been running 4-5 days a week and mixing in some strength training. Right now I am not logging a ton of miles, usually around 20-27 a week, but I have been mixing in 400 meter speed workouts, tempo workouts, and a lot of easy runs every week. I am going to do an 8 miler on Saturday, and I am running in a 30K (18.6 miles) race at the end of the month called the Desert Dash. My knee has been bothering me a little bit, but not too bad. I'm feeling pretty good at this point and should do a lot better this year!

*Hayley

...

I would be happy to run as #1, 3, or 6.... You guys tell me.

*Hayley

Whoa!

I thought I better hop on here real quick since everyone is claiming legs! Adam and I would like 7(adam) and 8(me-ash). We are willing to change it around though if there are other people who better qualify for those legs! Thanks! We are getting excited!!

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

leg #2

Caitlyn has officially laid claim to leg #2 since Eric wants leg #4. Lets remember that the more experienced runners probably need to be a little flexible on which legs they get. So says the old geezer

About the legs: Leg 9

Leg 9

Maybe the old geezer missed something but I thought we were going to try to match abilities to legs. I am all for being with your spouses and making the most of the experience but we need to make sure that the less experienced or less capable runners aren't asked to do too much. You can put me down for whichever legs you need to me to run but lets make sure this was equitable for everyone. By the way I got a quick 4.5 miler in before my appointments tonight. If I can find the time in my schedule all the rest of you can too. I want to start seeing some posts about your running. Lets start pounding some pavement out there. The old geezer

Legs 11 and 10 for A and M edited

Edited

Ok so megan and i have decided on our legs! I (Aaron) want to take the 11th leg and Megan the 10th! woot! we are getting very excited about the race!

Keep working hard everyone, please be safe in your runs. Remember what you mama taught you when you were 2 years old, dont run out in front of cars. There was an 18 year old that got hit by a car this last week in the Ragnar Del Sol. He wasnt the runner, he just wasnt paying attention and forgot that cars hurt. Anyway be safe in your training and we look forward to a very exciting race in June!

Loves

Aaron and Megan

We Have Chosen

If it is ok with everyone else... Monte would like to run as Runner #5. I would like to be in the same van, so I'm requesting to run as Runner #6.
I hope that works.

Map your course

I also second looking at the legs and so we can figure out who is running what. That will be very helpful for all of us. The sooner we can get that done the better so TAKE A LOOK!

There is a cool website that helps you track out your courses and then you know your mileage. You can get a login and then save all your courses. I find it very helpful and kinda fun. It is called http://www.runningmap.com CHECK IT OUT.

-Megan

Training with a purpose

I agree with Hayley, the sooner we make the runner assignments the better we can all train. Everyone needs to look at the legs and then we can try to match up runners abilities to legs. That worked well last year. For those of you who haven't been running, remember to start slow but get out everyday and gradually increase your distances. Remember to run some where different everyday. Never run the same course more that 2 times a week. This takes a little prep to come up with 5-6 different courses with varing lengths but it will work to your advantage in the end. Variety is the spice of life says the old geezer and will keep your mind and body from playing tricks on you. So lets get out there and have some fun while we are doing this. Steve (otherwise known as the old geezer)

Let's Get Organized

(Posted By Hayley)

Ok, so we have made some changes to the blog page and we hope that you like them! Along with the changes on the page I have added all of your email addresses to our blog page notification system, so you should receive an email every time someone publishes a new post on our page. (Let me know if you don't want to be included in that.) I thought that it would be easier for everyone that way, to receive an automatic notification of a new post, rather than to check it every day.

Also, I think everyone should go to the Wasatch Back homepage and look at the runs. I think that it would be beneficial in everyone's training if they knew exactly what runner # they were. That way you can train in similar elevations, inclines, distances, etc. So, check them out and leave a comment on what runner # you would prefer. http://www.ragnarrelay.com/wasatchback/coursemaps

Alright, I think that's it for now!

YAY!

WELCOME ERIC TO THE TEAM!!!!!!!! We're excited to have an exclusive, family only team this year! So, thank you to our newcomers Monte, Adam, and Eric for running with us this year!

Monday, March 1, 2010

time to shake the winter crust off

Okay everyone its time to get up and at it. No excuses this year, we all know what we are up against and after our GREAT performance last year the bar is set. So lets get at it. We have invited Eric Miller to round out our team and make an all family team so lets put a little pressure on the man to join up and suck some wind with the rest of us. Steve M.

Monday Runs - blah


I dragged Aaron out of bed this morning and we went for a nice run, it actually seemed really warm outside...until you breathed. I think my lungs froze before the first mile. It was ok, I feel like I have a long way to go, baby steps right. We did some strength training after our run and that felt really good. We have two exercise programs if anyone is interested, we can send you a copy. We have P90X and Insanity. I have not really done either of them a ton but they are really good. Anyway training is good and snow is melting YAY! Happy training everyone.

-Meg

This is what I am dreaming of until the snow melts:

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Running Playlist

(Hayley)
Ok, so I'm going to tell you what's on my running playlist... no laughing at me! Some of the songs are either a little gay or eclectic.

Ke$ha- Your Love Is My Drug
VV Brown- Shark In The Water
Jason DeRulo- Watcha Say
Ke$ha- Tik Tok
Ke$ha- Blah Blah Blah
Beach House- Norway
FloRida- Right Round
Jason DeRulo- In My Head
Owl City- Meteor Shower
Owl City- Fireflies
Lady Gaga- Money Honey
Paramore- Careful
Sia- Soon We'll Be Found
MGMT- Electric Feel
La Roux- Bulletproof
SafetySuit- Find A Way
Cascada- Evacuate The Dancefloor
Muse- Uprising
Paramore- All I Wanted (Any Paramore works for me.)
Imogen Heap- Canvas
Carrie Underwood- Cowboy Casanova
Carrie Underwood- Songs Like This
Lady Antebellum- Need You Now
Gary Go- Wonderful
MuteMath- Architecture
MuteMath- Electrify
One Republic- All The Right Moves
MIMS- Move If You Wanna
Soulja Boy- Kiss Me Thru The Phone
Lil Mama- Lip Gloss
Le Tigre- Deceptacon
KT Tunstall- Black Horse & A Cherry Tree
Kings of Leon- Sex On Fire

Anyway, just wanted to post this in case anyone wanted some new music ideas!
On another note, training has been going well for me. I got some new sneakers that have been helping to alleviate some of my knee pain, and I have been running 5 times a week and doing some strength training. I'm feeling pretty good about where I'm at right now and hope to continue to get stronger.

GO TEAM!!!!

Thursday, February 4, 2010

A&A

Well, sorry we haven't posted yet:( But Adam and I have gone running this week. It is really hard getting out and the cold and going, but really once I get out there it feels good. Last night I went in the snow and was trying not to slip or get knocked over by our dog who decided to join me. I have been able to get out twice this week for about 20 min each! I am really trying to be in better shape this year!
Adam is taking it slow due to his hip, but he did go for about a 20 min run as well this week. Our problem is getting the time to run, boy it's hard with both of us working full time...but we are doing our best and taking turns!!
Oh and what kind of stuff do u guys like to listen to on your ipods?? I'm new to the ipod thing and still trying to figure it out, and I'm sure if I took the time to i could figure it out, but i ran to "I stand all amazed" the other night. Don't get me wrong it was nice and spiritual, but slow haha!! Anyways keep up the great work and I'm glad to here that Monte is running with us!! Who else is that I don't know of??? Keep running!!
Ashlee and Adam

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Treadmill tragedies

Well hello everyone, once again!

Megan and I have run on the treadmill for 3 days straight, its a sham! I mean i understand the point, but seriously its like running in place for 30 minutes, could there be anything in life more boring than 3-4 miles on a treadmill? I submit that there cannot. But thankfully we at least have the option of running on a treadmill until out YakTrax get here on Friday, woot! We are both very excited to run outside and escape the monotony of a smelly sweaty freshman-filled gym. We are both doing great, our workouts have been wonderful and we are feeling strong! Keep up all the good work team! Way to go Monte and Hayley! everyone else, start posting!

Take Care and run hard!
Aaron - N - Megan

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Day 2

(This is Hayley- Posting this for Monte.)

Monte and I have been married for almost 8 years, and dated for almost a year before that. In 8 years I have only seen him run 3 times!!! I took him running through Logan Canyon when we were dating, and he never came with me ever again.... That is until this past week! He is excited to be a part of the team this year, and he is working hard to "not embarass" himself and get into great shape for the race.
On Saturday he ran for the 2nd time in 8 years and managed to do 3 miles. This morning he got up before work and ran for the 3rd time in 8 years and did 3.25 miles!
Way to go Monte! Keep up the good work!
Everyone else, keep up the good work too!

Monday, February 1, 2010

Day 1.

Hey everyone, im just here to set the example i guess. Megan and I both ran on the treadmill, we both did about 4 miles. We hate the treadmill, it would be great to go running outside, however Rexburg got 4-5 new inches of snow yesterday, and we dont have our TRAX yet. We look forward to warmer weather! Anyway, everyone work out. Be healthy, and happy. WE want to hear about everyone's workouts, so POST THEM~!

Aaron and Megan

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Other Training Options

I just wanted to post this because I know that some of you on the team might like a more challenging training schedule then what Ragnar has available. In my experience I have really enjoyed, and been impressed with, the Hal Higdon training programs. I used one of his training programs while training for a 5k and half marathon last year, and was able to get my mile time down to 6:14. (...Unfortunately I let myself get out of shape for the Wasatch Back, but I promise that I will be better this year!)
Anyway, here is the link for his 5k training schedules. They should be more then enough training to get you in great shape for the Wasatch Back. I started the advanced training schedule last week. Let me know if you have any questions about any of it. Also, just a quick note, the speed/interval workouts are what is going to help you get in great cardiovascular shape faster and help improve your split times.

http://www.halhigdon.com/5K%20Training/index.htm

*Hayley

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Training Week 1

Week 1 Training Novice: Starting Monday Feb 1:

Mon: 15 min
Tue: Rest
Wed: 15 min
Thurs: Rest
Fri: 15min
Sat/Sun: Rest

Week 1 Training Intermediate: Starting Monday Feb 1:
***If you are already running 20-30 Mi/week***
Mon: 3 Mi
Tue: 4 Mi
Wed: 3 Mi
Thur: 4 Mi
Fri: 3 Mi
Sat: 5 Mi
Sun: Rest

Welcome to Steve Millers Band 2010

Hey Everyone! This is the blog for our Wasatch Back 2010 team! Throughout our months of training we can each post stories about how we are doing with our training, funny things that happened, ask/ answer questions about the race, and most importantly STAY MOTIVATED TO RUN! email me at ambarborka@gmail for the information on how to get into our log so you can share your stories! The information should also have been provided within the team email that we sent you. So start running and tell us about it!

Happy Running!
-Steve Millers Band
Aaron B.